People can access my deleted files?!
- September 9, 2016
- Privacy Guard
Yes! People can still access your sensitive and private information you have deleted.
When a file is deleted from your Mac, it is still recoverable. Even when you empty the trash. Only the reference to the file is removed from the file system table. The file still exists on disk until other data overwrites it, leaving it vulnerable to recovery. So your sensitive information that you thought was deleted permanently is still recoverable and can be targeted by hackers.
This is where Privacy Guard is the most useful. It uses secure deletion to overwrite the data. Making recovery impossible. Your sensitive information will be permanently deleted.